California Writers Week

In 2003, the California State Assembly officially declared the third week in October each year as California Writers Week.

We invite all authors and readers to celebrate with us. Check your local branch's website in October for sponsored events.

California Authors of Note

The following authors were selected for the California Writers Club Joint Legislative Resolution in 2003. Click on an author's name to learn more,

Gertrude Atherton (1857-1948) Mary Austin (1868-1934)
Raymond Barrio (1921-1996) Delilah L. Beasley (1872-1934)
Raymond Chandler (1888-1959) Ina Coolbrith (1841-1928)
Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961) Bret Harte (1836-1902)
Jack London (1876-1916) Joaquin Miller (1837-1913)
William Saroyan (1908-1981) John Steinbeck (1902-1968)
George Sterling (1869-1926) Mark Twain (1835-1910)

[Top of page]

The Story behind
California Writers Week

For several months in early 2003, with the expert help of Anthony Folcarelli, the Central Board of the California Writers Club worked to establish California Writers Week. The plan was successful and on September 4, 2003 at 10 a.m., California Writers Club members gathered on the Assembly floor in Sacramento to receive a Joint Legislative Resolution from Assemblyman Tim Leslie. The Resolution is endorsed by the California Library Association.

Click here for a list of the noted California authors selected for the Resolution.

Text of the Resolution

Our Day in Sacramento
Photographs by Dianne Levy and Don Truax

In photo at right, CWC President Barbara Truax (at left, holding Resolution) with Assemblyman Tim Leslie and Anne Marie Gold, member of the executive board of the California Library Association and head of the Sacramento Library.

Anthony Folcarelli reviewing the process with Tim Leslie's assistant Jedd Medefind (also a published author) while waiting for the 10 a.m. Assembly to begin. Barbara, Teresa LeYung Ryan from the Peninsula Branch, and Jeremiah O'Brien, the Central Board Representative from the Marin Branch.

A smiling Barb Truax leads CWC representatives to the Assembly floor for the 10 a.m. presentation.

Truly an exciting place to be. It has become rare, and will become even more rare, to be able to visit the Assembly floor to receive such awards. We are grateful to Tim Leslie and his aide de camp for their willingness to assist in this process.

Central Board Representatives join Barbara on the Capitol Plaza for a photo op .

California Writers Club members witnessed this important moment in California Writers Club history.

Left to right: Dianne Levy, Marin branch president and CWC webmaster; Dave Sawle, Berkeley branch representative; Carol McConkie, Redwood branch president; Jeremiah O'Brien, Marin branch representative; Bill Baldwin, South Bay branch president and Central Board representative, CB Secretary; Amy Peele, Marin branch; Anthony Folcarelli, Sacramento branch and Special Consultant to the Central Board; Tom Adams, Sacramento branch representative and CB Vice President, Jackie Krug, Sacramento branch; Marilyn Smith Murphy, Sacramento branch.

Front: Teresa LeYung Ryan, Peninsula branch; Beth Tigner, Sacramento branch; Shirley Adams, Sacramento branch; Barbara; Octavia Simien, Sacramento branch president.

[Top of page]

Copyright © 2006 - 2010 California Writers Club

Membership | About CWC | Branches | Events | Newsroom | Our Members | Contact | CB Only